IPL 2015: MI beat Daredevils by 5 wkts to remain in last 4 race

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, May 5: Former Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Daredevils (DD) by 5 wickets in a crucial contest at the Wankhede Stadium here on Tuesday. MI's Harbhajan Singh was adjudged the man of the match for his 2 for 11 in 4 overs.

IPL Special; Points Table; Scorecard

Chasing 153 to win, the home team was reduced to 40 for 4 by a spirited Dardevils bowling attack before Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu brought them back into the match, which was disrupted twice by rain but was not curtailed.


Rohit & Rayudu turned the match head on

Skipper Rohit Sharma scored 46 off 37 balls but Rayudu (49* off 40 balls) and Kieron Pollard (26*off 19 balls) made sure that their team did not lose this crucial tie and remain in the hunt for a last-four berth.


With this win, the Mumbai Indians jumped from the seventh spot in the table to the fourth spot. They have now 10 points from 10 matches while the Daredevils have 8 points from 10 matches.

For the Daredevils, Nathan Coulter-Nile was the pick of the bowlers with 2 for 30 in 4 overs. Zaheer Khan, Angelo Mathews and Amit Mishra took a wicket each.

Yuvaraj Singh led Daredevils' fight with 57 off 44 balls

Earlier, Yuvaraj Singh led the Delhi Daredevils' (DD) fightback against the home team with a steady 57 off 44 balls in a crucial IPL tie at the Wankhede Stadium here on Tuesday. The innings was punctuated by 7 boundaries and 2 back-to-back sixes. The Daredevils posted 152/6 in their allotted 20 overs.


Captain JP Duminy, who won the toss and elected to bat, was the next highest scorer for the DD with 28 off 19 balls.

Harbhajan's double strike pegged the DD back

Veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh dismissed Shreyas Iyer, who scored 83 in the last meeting between these two sides in Delhi on April 23, in his very first ball.

It was a crucial strike for it came just when Iyer and Duminy were looking ominous.


The Turbanator also claimed Kedar Jadhav to finish as the most successful bowler for the MI with 2 for 11 in his 4 overs. Lasith Malinga also took 2 wickets for 33 runs.

Lasith Malinga takes wicket in the very first ball

Earlier, Lasith Malinga claimed the wicket of Mayank Agarwal, who was caught by wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel, in the very first ball of the match.

DD captain JP Duminy won the toss and elected to bat.

Playing XI:

MI:  Lendl Simmons, Parthiv Patel (W), Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma (C), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Jagadeesha Suchitch, Vinay Kumar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga

DD: Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, JP Duminy (C), Yuvraj Singh, Angelo Mathews, Kedar Jadhav (W), Saurabh Tiwary, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan, Imran Tahir

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...