IPL 2015: Full list of award winners and important statistics

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, May 25: Mumbai Indians (MI) were crowned the Indian Premier League 2015 (IPL 8) champions on Sunday night (May 24) and as every year there were several awards given away at the end of the tournament.

IPL Special; Final Scorecard; Final Report; Final Highlights

In the final at Eden Gardens, Rohit Sharma-led MI defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 41 runs. Batting first, MI scored 202/5 in 20 overs and CSK were kept to 161/8.

Rohit Sharma celebrates his half century in the final

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain David Warner won the Orange Cap for scoring the most number of runs in IPL 8. The most wickets award went to Dwayne Bravo of Chennai Super Kings.

Royal Challengers Bangalore's (RCB) Chris Gayle struck the most number of sixes in the tournament with 38 hits.

Full list of award winners at IPL 2015

  • Champions - Mumbai Indians (Rs 15 crore prize money)

  • Runner-up - Chennai Super Kings (Rs 10 crore)

Orange Cap (most runs)

  • 562 runs in 14 innings - David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Purple Cap (most wickets)

  • 26 wickets in 16 innings - Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

Emerging Player

  • Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Daredevils) - 439 runs in 14 innings


  • Rohit Sharma (MI)

Maximum Sixes award in the final

  • 3 - Kieron Pollard (MI)

Fair play Award

  • Chennai Super Kings

Best catch of the tournament

  • Dwayne Bravo (CSK Vs RR). Took Shane Watson's catch at the boundary

Most Valuable Player

  • Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Other important statistics

Total centuries

  • 4 (AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum and Shane Watson)

Highest individual score

  • 133 not out - De Villiers (RCB Vs MI)

Fastest century

  • Chris Gayle - 46-ball ton Vs Kings XI Punjab

Fastest half century

  • 19 balls - Andre Russell (KKR Vs KXIP) and Harbhajan Singh (MI Vs KXIP). Russell won the award as he had better strike rate

Most sixes (Maximum Season award)

  • 38 - Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Most fours

  • 65 - David Warner (SRH)

Total sixes in the tournament

  • 692

Total wickets in the tournament

  • 686

Highest team score

  • 235/1 - RCB Vs MI

David Warner won the Orange Cap

Best bowling in an innings

  • 4/10 - Ashish Nehra (CSK Vs RCB)

Fastest ball bowled

  • 151.11 kmph - Mitchell Johnson (KXIP)

Most dot balls bowled in an innings

  • 18 - Zaheer Khan (DD Vs CSK 4-1-9-2)

Most dot balls in the tournament

  • 170 - Nehra (CSK - 22 wickets in 16 innings. 62 overs, 449 runs)

Most maiden overs bowled in the tournament

  • 4 - Sandeep Sharma (KXIP)

Previous champions

  • 2014 - Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2013 - Mumbai Indians
  • 2012 - Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2011 - Chennai Super Kings
  • 2010 - Chennai Super Kings
  • 2009 - Deccan Chargers
  • 2008 - Rajasthan Royals

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...