IPL 2015 Daily Guide: Qualifier 2 (Match 59) - Chennai Super Kings Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, May 21: MS Dhoni will enjoy his home crowd's support in Ranchi as he will lead Chennai Super Kings (CSK) against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Qualifier 2 (semi-final) of the Indian Premier League 2015 (IPL 8) on Friday night (May 22).

IPL Special; Rain rules for playoffs

Tomorrow's game is a knockout one. The winner heads to Kolkata to face Mumbai Indians (MI) in the final on May 24 (Sunday) while the loser goes home.

Test of captaincy for Dhoni (left) and Kohli

This season, CSK have beaten RCB in both matches (home and away). Based on this, they will start as favourites and also the team will receive massive 'home' support.

RCB, however, are in good form in recent matches. Though one can expect a close tussle between the two, crucial games as these ended up as one-side affairs, as seen in Qualifier 1 and yesterday's Eliminator.

CSK, who have entered the playoffs in all 8 editions of IPL, are bidding to reach the final for a record 6th time. If RCB progress, it will be their 3rd (runner-up in 2009 and 2011).

Here is your guide to Friday's (May 22) Qualifier 2 (Match 59) in IPL 2015

Who are playing? (Match Preview)

  • Chennai Super Kings Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Where, when and time?

  • JSCA International Cricket Stadium, Ranchi
  • May 22 (Friday)
  • 8 PM IST

Where to watch on TV in India?

Key players

  • CSK - Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni
  • RCB - Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Mitchell Starc

Head-to-head record

  • CSK - 11
  • RCB - 7

This season's meetings

  • CSK - 2
  • RCB - 0


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Ashish Nehra, Baba Aparajith, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Faf du Plessis, Ishwar Pandey, Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Mohit Sharma, Pawan Negi, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Samuel Badree, Suresh Raina, Ronit More, Michael Hussey, Rahul Sharma, Kyle Abbott, Ankush Bains, Irfan Pathan, Pratyush Singh, Andrew Tye, Eklavya Dwivedi.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Mitchell Starc, Nic Maddinson, Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, Harshal Patel, Vijay Zol, Abu Nechim, Sandeep Warrier, Yogesh Takawale, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rilee Rossouw, Iqbal Abdulla, Manvinder Bisla, Mandeep Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Subramaniam Badrinath, Darren Sammy, Sean Abbott, David Wiese, Sarfaraz Khan, Jalaj Saxena, Shishir Bhavane, Sreenath Arvind.

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary, Chris Gaffaney, Chettithody Shamshuddin, Krishnaraj Srinath

Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...