IPL 10: Here are 10 best captains; MS Dhoni is the undisputed 'Super King'

As Indian Premier League enters its tenth year we look at the 10 most successful captains in the history of the IPL. India's most successful captain MS sits comfortably at the top.

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, April 20: India's cricketing extravaganza Indian Premier League (IPL) has entered the 10th edition. Within a short span of a decade, IPL has transformed the game of cricket not only in India but also in the entire world. 

IPL Special Site; Schedule; Points Table; Photos

IPL has become one of the most sought after domestic Twenty20 leagues which not only generates huge amount of money for the cricketers from different nations, but the performance in the IPL also opens the door for the cricketers to get selected to their national squads.

IPL has, within a span of 10 years, produced some of the most popular cricketers in the world.

Winning a tournament like IPL could be possible only if the captain of the side is capable enough of getting together a group of players, coming from different nationalities, unite them and fight for a common goal.

In the last 9 years, we have witnessed some incredible leaders who took their franchises to new heights because of their astute captaincy skills and knack to get the best out of their players. India's most successful captain MS Dhoni sits comfortably at the top of the table.

Here are the top 10 captains in the history of IPL (as on April 18, 2017):

1. MS Dhoni

Inarguably the most successful captain in the history of the IPL is not leading the side in the IPL 10.

Dhoni was sacked as the captain of the Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) just before the IPL 2017 auction as the franchise wanted a young Steve Smith to lead the one-year-old team.

Dhoni played as the captain since inception of the IPL in 2008 till 2016. He has captained Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and RPS in a total of 143 matches.

Under his leadership his team has won 83 IPL games and lost 59 matches. His win percentage is 58.45 and this makes him the best captain in the history of the cash-rich league.

Dhoni led CSK to two IPL trophies and his team made it to the play-off stages in every season till 2015.

The CSK had also won 2 Champions League T20 under Dhoni's leadership, which is also a record.

2. Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir initially led Delhi Daredevils (DD) and later went on to play and captain Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in 2011.

Ever since Delhi boy Gambhir was named the captain of KKR (in 2011), the team hasn't looked back. KKR went on to lift their first IPL trophy in the very next season - in 2012 and repeated the success in 2014.

Gambhir has led KKR from the front and the team depends heavily on his performance at the top of the order. He has scored 34 fifties in the IPL so far, second most after David Warner.

He has led his teams in 112 IPL matches, won 65 and lost 46 of them at a win percentage of 58.48, which is slightly better than Dhoni.

He has also been a leading run-getter for the side and loves leading by example.

3. Rohit Sharma

The charismatic Mumbai Indians' (MI) skipper has led his franchise to 2 IPL triumphs.

He, therefore, is a part of the elite club of Dhoni and Gambhir, a feat Virat Kohli still dreams of as far as IPL is concerned.

Ever since becoming captain in 2013, Rohit has led MI in 63 games. He tasted victory in 38 of them while swallowed the bitter pill of defeat in 25 matches. His win percentage is a whopping 60.31.

4. Virat Kohli

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) batsman was made the captain of the franchise in 2011.

The Delhi cricketer, who is the captain of the Indian national cricket team as well, continues leading the side from the front.

Apart from being an exceptional top order batsman, Kohli has established himself as an astute captain in the last three seasons.

Kohli has led RCB in 75 IPL games so far. Off these the team has won 37 and lost 33, two matches remained tied.

Kohli enjoys a win percentage of 52.77.

5. Adam Gilchrist

The legendary Australian wicketkeeper-batsman first led Deccan Chargers (DC) and later captained Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). His captaincy spanned between 2008 and 2013.

DC, now defunct, won the second season of the IPL in 2009, which was held in South Africa, under Gilchrist's captaincy.

Of the 74 matches his side played in the IPL, Gilchrist won 35 while lost 39. His win per cent in the IPL was 47.29.

6. Shane Warne

The legendary Australian spinner was the captain of Rajasthan Royals (RR), which won the inaugural IPL season in 2008 by defeating Dhoni's CSK in the final.

He was part of the IPL between 2008 and 2011 and captained the side in 55 games.

Rajasthan won 30 games while lost 24, one game was tied, under his leadership. Warne's win percentage was 55.45 in the IPL as a captain.

7. David Warner

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) skipper has led his franchise to 1 IPL triumph in the year 2016. 

Warner was named the captain of the franchise in 2013 and the team has fared well under his leadership. 

Warner led the SRH side from the front against Kohli's RCB in the final of IPL 9 and came out victorious.

He has captained DD and SRH so far. Warner led in 39 games out of which he has won 22 and lost just 17. His win percentage is 56.41.

8. Virender Sehwag

The aggressive Delhi batsman captained DD and later on KXIP in IPL between 2008 and 2015.

Under Sehwag's leadership his teams played 53 games, out of those he won 29 (1 game won in Super Over, against RR in 2015) and lost 24.

Sehwag's win percentage was 53.77. Now, Sehwag is the mentor of KXIP.

9. Sachin Tendulkar

The legendary Indian cricketing icon remained captain of the MI franchise between 2008 and 2011.

Out of 51 matches he led, MI won 30 of them and tasted defeat in 21. Tendulkar's win percentage is 58.82.

10. Rahul Dravid

The former India captain led RCB and RR between 2008 and 2013. Dravid led his IPL teams in 48 games.

Under his captaincy his they won 22 and lost 26. His win percentage was 45.83.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...