Indian Premier League: Success rate of champions (2008-2016)

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, May 30: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) became the latest champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) when they defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by eight runs in the final of the ninth edition of the tournament played at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday (May 29).

Hyderabad wins IPL 9; IPL 2016 Special Site; Full list of award winners

With their maiden title, SRH became the sixth team to win an IPL title after the Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians. The RCB, on the other hand, lost their third final in nine years and are yet to win the title. Another team which has made the final of the IPL but lost is Kings XI Punjab.


Here we take a look at the success rate of the teams that have made the finals of the tournament:

TeamFinals playedWonLostYear(s)Success Per cent
Kolkata Knight Riders2202012, 2014100%
Rajasthan Royals1102008100%
Deccan Chargers1102009100%
Sunrisers Hyderabad1102016100%
Mumbai Indians321won in 2013, 2015; lost in 201066.66%
Chennai Super Kings624won in 2010, 2011; lost in 2008, 2012, 2013, 201533.33%
Kings XI Punjab10120140.00%
Royal Challengers Bangalore3032009, 2011, 20160.00%

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...