India win 6th Asia Cup title; MS Dhoni equals Azharuddin's 2-titles record

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mirpur, March 7: India defeated Bangladesh by 8 wickets in the final of the first T20 Asia Cup tournament at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium here on Sunday night to lift their sixth overall title.

Mirpur final match report; scorecard; Asia Cup photos

ms dhoni

MS Dhoni equals Azharuddin's record

India have won Asia Cup titles in 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010 and 2016. While Sunil Gavaskar and Dilip Vengsarkar were the captains of the side that won the 1984 and 1988 editions, Mohammad Azharuddin and Mahendra Singh Dhoni led their sides to the title twice---in 1990-91 and 1995 and 2010 and 2016, respectively.

2016 saw India beat new opponents in the final other than Sri Lanka

While India lifted the trophy in 1984 owing to their undefeated run, they beat Sri Lanka in the final of the 1988, 1990-91, 1995 and 2010 editions. In 2016, they beat another team other than Sri Lanka for the first time to win the trophy.

India win both longer and shorter inaugural versions of Asia Cup

With this win, India also created an unbeatable record of bagging the inaugural longer and shorter versions of the Asia Cup.

Bangladesh lose their second Asia Cup final at home

Bangladesh, on the other hand, lost their second Asia Cup final, both at home. They had lost the final of the 2012 edition to Pakistan by two runs in the same venue.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...