When MS Dhoni's men beat Pakistan 3-0 in T20 cricket

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mirpur, Feb 27: India will play Pakistan in a crucial group match in Asia Cup at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium here on Saturday. They have met 10 times in Asia Cup so far with each winning five games.

Asia Cup schedule and squads; Points Table; Photos
As in Tests and ODIs, the history of the T20 rivalry between the arch-rivals hasn't been less thrilling. Take for example, the first-ever meeting between the two sides in T20, which happened at the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007.


In that matchin Durban, India were reduced to 36 for 4 after Pakistan won the toss and asked them to bat. Riding on Robin Uthappa's 50 and captain MS Dhoni's 33, India finished at 141-9, defying the scares of Mohammad Asif who took 4 for 18.

India vs Pak: Records at a glance

Pakistan, who had already qualified for the Super Eights after the India-Scotland game was abandoned, were 87 for 5 at one stage but Misbah-ul-Haq's 53 took them within a striking distance of victory. But his run-out in the final ball of the innings saw Pakistan also ending at 141 for the loss of seven wickets. [See scorecard here]

The tie necessitated a bowl-out to choose the winners and India came out with flying colours in that. Bowl-out is a procedure whereby a chosen number of bolwers from each side would bowl at an unguarded wicket and the team which succeeds in hitting the targets more number of times will win the contest. In that match, India won it 3-0 as all Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Uthappa hit the target. Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi from Pakistan, on the other hand, missed the timber completely.

India qualified for the Super Eights as a result and went on to win the tournament by beating the same Pakistan by five runs in the final in Johannesburg.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...