India Vs Australia: Virat Kohli fumes as Steve Smith tries to cheat with DRS

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, March 7: The spotlight on Decision Review System (DRS) refuses to go away. However, this time, Australian captain Steve Smith was under fire for attempting to cheat with the use of DRS during the 2nd Test against India here today (March 7).

Series schedule; Photos; Day 3 report

On the 4th day of the match on Tuesday, in the 21st over, Smith was given out LBW to Umesh Yadav by on-field umpire Nigel Llong. Smith tried to review the decision but with the help of his team-mates and support staff from the dressing room.

But Smith's plans to seek outside help were quickly denied by English umpire Llong. Smith's actions were criticised by all and left Indian captain Virat Kohli fuming.

Australia were set a tricky target of 188 by India. Smith, was batting on 28 when Umesh, in the middle of a fine spell, trapped the right-hander in front of the stumps with a ball that kept low.

Llong quickly upheld India's appeal against the Australian. Smith was keen to use the DRS. He first consulted the non-striker Peter Handscomb. He, however, gestured that he ask the dressing room.

In a jiffy Smith was looking towards the pavilion as he nodded towards his team-mates and others in the dressing room. This clearly upset the Indian players. And Kohli intervened.

Umpire Llong was quick to spot Smith's attempt to cheat and go against the spirit of the game. He straightaway said to Smith it is not allowed. Australia were reduced to 74/4 at the stage.

With no option, Smith walked off the ground. But his behaviour will remain the talking point for a long time. He was booed by the crowd.

According to the rules, batsman or fielders can't seek outside help to use DRS. A captain can consult his fielders to review an umpire's decision.

For a batsman, he can only talk to the non-striker before asking for DRS. A player or captain is allowed only 15 seconds to signal for DRS after the ball is dead following an umpire's decision.

Former India batsman Aakash Chopra, who is doing TV commentary for the game, wrote on Twitter that Smith was cheating.

"Looking at the dressing room for a signal to take the review??? Now....that's CHEATING. #IndvAus," Chopra wrote.

Yesterday (March 6), India said they were "surprised" with the way the third umpire Richard Kettleborough upheld the on-field LBW call against Kohli.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...