India squad announced for Bangladesh Test; India A team also picked

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 31: Parthiv Patel was today (January 31) dropped from the Indian Test squad while Tamil Nadu opener Abhinav Mukund made a comeback. First-choice wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha also returned.

Bangladesh tour of India schedule; Bangladesh squad named

The Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) selectors, on Tuesday, named a 16-man Indian squad, captained by Virat Kohli, to face Bangladesh in a one-off Test in Hyderabad from February 9. The selection meeting was delayed for 6 hours as joint secretary Amitabh Chaudhary was found ineligible to convene the meeting.

Parthiv had replaced the injured Saha in the England series. He impressed both with the bat and wicketkeeping. However, with the fit-again Saha returning, the left-hander was omitted.

Ahead of the team selection, there were reports that both Saha and Parthiv would be chosen in the squad. However, the MSK Prasad-led selection panel has gone in with only one stumper in Saha.

Tamil Nadu's left-hander Mukund also made a comeback as the third opener after KL Rahul and Murali Vijay.

The 27-year-old Mukund has been picked in the Test squad after a gap of 5 years. He played last of his 5 Tests in 2011 against England in Nottingham.

Mumbai middle order batsman Ajinkya Rahane too made a comeback after missing the final 2 Tests against England last month. All-rounder Hardik Pandya too came back from injury.

The selectors also picked India A squad, to be led by Pandya, to face Australia in a three-day practice game in Mumbai from February 16 to 18. India will host Australia in a 4-Test series. The first Test starts on February 23 in Pune.

India Test squad

1. Virat Kohli (captain), 2. Murali Vijay, 3. KL. Rahul, 4. Cheteshwar Pujara, 5. Ajinkya Rahane, 6. Karun Nair, 7. Wriddihiman Saha (wicketkeeper), 8. R. Ashwin, 9. Ravindra Jadeja, 10. Jayant Yadav, 11. Umesh Yadav, 12. Ishant Sharma, 13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 14. Amit Mishra, 15. Abhinav Mukund, 16. Hardik Pandya.

India 'A' team for the three-day practice game against Australia (February 16 to 18 in Mumbai)

1. Hardik Pandya (Captain), 2. Akhil Herwadkar, 3. Priyank Kirit Panchal, 4. Shreyas Iyer, 5. Ankit Bawne, 6. Rishabh Pant, 7. Ishan Kishan (WK), 8. Shahbaz Nadeem, 9. Krishnappa Gowtham, 10. Kuldeep Yadav, 11. Navdeep Saini, 12. Ashok Dinda, 13. Mohammed Siraj, 14. Rahul Singh, 15. Baba Indrajith.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...