India-South Africa 2015 series schedule announced; De Villiers' 100th Test in Bengaluru

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, July 27: South Africa will tour India from September this year to play 3 Twenty20 Internationals, 5 One Day Internationals and 3 Tests, it was confirmed today by both countries' cricket boards. It will be South Africa's longest tour (70 days) to India.

The tour will start in Delhi on September 29 when the Proteas will play a T20 practice match. The first of the 3 T20Is will be played on October 2 in Dharamsala. The tour ends on December 7 with the 3rd and final Test in Delhi.

India-South Africa 2015 series schedule announced

"I am delighted to confirm, together with the BCCI, the Proteas' itinerary for our tour of India later this year," Cricket South Africa's (CSA) Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said.

"This will be the longest tour that we have undertaken to India and the first time we will play a four-Test series. Both countries are now working to develop this into an icon series. Another first is that we will be playing our first T20 International match against India in India," he added.

One of the highlights of the tour is that South Africa's captain AB de Villiers will play his 100th Test at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

"Of note will be the second Test match to be played in Bangalore where the Castle Lager Proteas previously secured our only ever Test Series win over India in India in 2000. If all works out this will be AB de Villiers' 100th Test match and it could not be a more appropriate venue as it has become AB's second home through his involvement with the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

"Being a landmark tour in the young history of Cricket South Africa, I wish to thank the BCCI for all the hard work that has been put in to scheduling this tour and I now look forward to the Test series becoming an iconic one," Lorgat added.

AB de Villiers to play his 100th Test in Bengaluru

Tour schedule

September 29 (Thursday): T20 warm-up, New Delhi

October 2 (Friday): 1st T20I, Dharamsala

October 5 (Monday): 2nd T20I, Cuttack

October 8 (Thursday): 3rd T20I, Kolkata

October 11 (Sunday): 1st ODI, Kanpur

October 14 (Wednesday): 2nd ODI, Indore

October 18 (Sunday): 3rd ODI, Rajkot

October 22 (Thursday): 4th ODI, Chennai

October 25 (Sunday): 5th ODI, Mumbai

October 30-31 (Friday to Saturday): Tour game - South Africa Vs Board President's XI, Mumbai

November 5-9 (Thursday to Monday): 1st Test, Mohali

November 14-18 (Saturday to Wednesday): 2nd Test, Bengaluru

November 25-29 (Wednesday to Sunday): 3rd Test, Nagpur

December 3-7 (Thursday to Monday): 4th Test, New Delhi

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...