India squad for first 3 ODIs against NZ announced; Raina, Mishra return, Yuvraj ignored

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 6: India's 15-member ODI squad for the first three games of the 5-match series against New Zealand has been announced on Thursday (October 6).

Ind-NZ series schedule

Middle-order batsman Suresh Raina has staged a comeback while Haryana off-spinner Jayant Yadav was the lone new face in the squad. 

India squad for first 3 ODIs against NZ announced; Raina, Mishra return, Yuvraj ignored

Raina, who had been rested from the ODI series against Zimbabwe in June, returns to the fold even as senior off-spinner R Ashwin, pacer Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja were given a break. Leg-spinner Amit Mishra also returned to the squad. 

Veteran left-handed batsman Yuvraj Singh who was rested for Zimbabwe tour has been ignored by the new selection panel.

Medium pacer Jasprit Bumrah, batsman Mandeep Singh and Kedar Jadhav were included in the squad announced by the selection committee chairman MSK Prasad after a meeting of the committee here.

(Will Yuvraj, Raina be picked in India's ODI squad against NZ?)

The team, to be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, retained batsman Manish Pandey, while paceman Umesh Yadav was brought back into the team after missing the Zimbabwe tour.

The new senior selection committee, led by former wicketkeeper Prasad met in Delhi on Thursday, to pick the players for the series.

Hardik Pandya, who performed well during India A's tour of Australia in the ODI series, and other young players were also rewarded for their performance in Australian conditions. 

The team had no place for left-handed opener Gautam Gambhir, who had forced his way back into the Test team after some solid knocks in the domestic circuit.

Prasad said Gambhir's name was discussed but "we needed continuity and we groomed Mandeep as an opener. He did extremely well against Australia A Down Under."

The selection committee chief said that the trio of Ashwin, Shami and Jadeja was rested keeping in mind the long home season that awaits India, during which the side is scheduled to play 11 more Test matches out of 13. India lead the ongoing Test series against New Zealand 2-0.

With Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul missing out, Rahane will be opening India's innings alongside Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli would come in to bat at number three. 

The first ODI between India and New Zealand will be played in Dharamsala on October 16. The 5-match series ends in Visakhapatnam on October 29. 

Here is the 15-member Men In Blue squad:

1. MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper)

2. Rohit Sharma

3. Virat Kohli

4. Manish Pandey

5. Ajinkya Rahane

6. Suresh Raina

7. Hardik Pandya

8. Axar Patel

9. Jasprit Bumrah

10. Jayant Yadav

11. Dhawal Kulkarni

12. Umesh Yadav

13. Amit Mishra

14. Kedar Jadhav

15. Mandeep Singh

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...