ICC World T20 2016 groups, schedule to be announced on December 11

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Dec 9: The groups and fixtures for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 tournament will be announced on Friday (December 11), the International Cricket Council (ICC) said today.

Full schedule of World T20

India's Test captain Virat Kohli, batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane will be part of the World T20 2016 launch event at a hotel in Mumbai.

ICC World T20 2016 schedule to be announced on December 11

The event will also be attended by ICC chairman and BCCI president Shashank Manohar, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson and BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur, ICC said.

Yesterday (December 8), ICC had unveiled the logo of the tournament. India will host World T20 for the first time, from 11 March to April 3 across 8 cities. Kolkata's Eden Gardens will host the final. In January this year, India was allotted the tournament.

There are 16 teams in the fray for the 2016 edition. So far in the brief history of the tournament, no team has won the title twice. India were the champions in the inaugural event in 2007.

World T20 champions

2007 - India beat Pakistan by 5 runs in final (Hosts South Africa)

2009 - Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in final (England)

2010 - England beat Australia by 7 wickets in final (West Indies)

2012 - West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs in final (Sri Lanka)

2014 - Sri Lanka beat India by 6 wickets in final (Bangladesh)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...