ICC World T20 2016 in India: Venues announced; Kolkata to host final

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, July 21: Kolkata's iconic Eden Gardens stadium will host the final of the ICC World Twenty20 2016, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced today while confirming all the venues for the prestigious tournament. World Twenty20 will be hosted by India from 11 March to 3 April, 2016.

Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi will be the venues along with Kolkata, which will also host the final of the event, the BCCI said in a media release on Tuesday. Eden Gardens had missed out on hosting ICC World Cup 2011 matches as renovation work was not complete. The famous ground had hosted World Cup 1987 final and also 1996 World Cup semi-final.

Eden Gardens to host the final

"These venues will host the matches subject to fulfilling the prescribed requirements of the ICC and BCCI while adhering to the statutory obligations that are mandatory for hosting an International match," it added.

BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said, "BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event. All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans. I am confident that all the venues nominated will deliver a world class event."

"One of the semi-finals will be held in Mumbai. The other might be held in Delhi. In case the semi-final is not held in Delhi then it will host a marquee match like India versus Pakistan. Dharamsala will host an India game against one of the qualifiers," Thakur told reporters.

This will be the first time India will be hosting World T20. They are the winners of the inaugural edition in 2007 in South Africa under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

World T20 2016 venues (8)

1. Bengaluru (M Chinnaswamy Stadium)

2. Chennai (MA Chidambaram Stadium)

3. New Delhi (Feroz Shah Kotla)

4. Dharamsala (HPCA Stadium)

5. Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium)

6. Kolkata (Eden Gardens)

7. Nagpur (VCA Stadium)

8. Mohali (PCA Stadium)

Note: Exact grounds to be confirmed by BCCI. As now, only host cities named

The BCCI has also constituted a Managing Committee for the tournament comprising of the following members:

President of BCCI, Jagmohan Dalmiya would be the chairman of this committee along with the following members

Anurag Thakur, convenor and Secretary, BCCI

Amitabh Choudhary, Joint Secretary, BCCI

Anirudh Chaudhry, Treasurer, BCCI

G. Ganga Raju, Vice President, BCCI

Rajeev Shukla, Chairman, IPL

Ashish Shelar, Vice President, Mumbai Cricket Association

Ashirbad Behera, Secretary, Orissa Cricket Association

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...