ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year 2015 announced; 2 Indians make the cut

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Dec 2: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the Test and ODI teams of the year (2015) and there are only two Indians who have made it.

ICC Teams of 2014

On Wednesday (December 2), as it is every year, ICC revealed the list of players who made it to the Test and ODI teams of the year. England's Alastair Cook was chosen as captain of the Test team while AB de Villiers of South Africa was named skipper of ODI side.

Mohammed Shami

Paceman Mohammed Shami is the lone Indian in the first XI of the ODI outfit while off-spinner R Ashwin features as the 12th man in Test line-up.

For the first time in 8 years, India's limited overs captain MS Dhoni has failed to feature in ODI team. For 5 years in a row, till 2014, he was named as ODI captain of ICC Team. And he was in the side for 7 consecutive years. But now, he has no place.

"The ICC today announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC's Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble," a media release from ICC said.

"The qualification period ran from September 18th 2014 to September 13th 2015 and the selection panel included past greats of the world game including former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, ex England batsman Mark Butcher, former Australia women's captain Belinda Clark and Mr. G. Viswanath, Deputy Editor of The Hindu & Sportstar," it added.

The Chairman of the ICC Awards Selection Panel, Anil Kumble, said: "I would like to congratulate all the players for their selection in the Test and ODI teams of the year. It is an achievement for each of them to be proud of and a recognition for their good performances in the qualifying period.

"Team selection is one of the toughest jobs and when you have a large pool of outstanding players to select from in a 12-month period then it becomes even more difficult. It was a particularly busy year, with a series of stellar performances throughout the Test and ODI formats, not least in a hugely successful ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, which has greatly enhanced the popularity and profile of the game internationally.

"Testament to the quality of cricket played is the calibre of players to have missed out on selection. While selecting these squads, the selectors considered various combinations and took into account several factors in overall performances. Congratulations to all of the players on their selections."

The winners of the individual awards will be announced later this month, ICC said.

AB de Villiers

Here are the teams

ICC Test Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order)

  • David Warner (Australia)
  • Alastair Cook (England) (captain)
  • Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
  • Younis Khan (Pakistan)
  • Steven Smith (Australia)
  • Joe Root (England)
  • Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (wicketkeeper)
  • Stuart Broad (England)
  • Trent Boult (New Zealand)
  • Yasir Shah (Pakistan)
  • Josh Hazlewood (Australia)
  • 12th man: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order)

  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Hashim Amla (South Africa)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) (wicketkeeper)
  • AB de Villiers (South Africa) (captain)
  • Steven Smith (Australia)
  • Ross Taylor (New Zealand)
  • Trent Boult (New Zealand)
  • Mohammed Shami (India)
  • Mitchell Starc (Australia)
  • Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
  • Imran Tahir (South Africa)
  • 12th man: Joe Root (England)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...