ICC Awards to be announced on December 21; Will Virat Kohli win?

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Dec 14: After drawing a blank in last year's International Cricket Council's (ICC) Awards last year, India will be hoping to win honours this time with all eyes on Test captain Virat Kohli.

ICC 2015 awards; Career high rank for Kohli

In 2015, none of the Indian players could manage to win any individual award. Australia's Steve Smith won 2 top honours (Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year).

Will Virat Kohli win an ICC award this year?

"The announcement of the winners of the men's individual ICC Awards and the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year will be made on Wednesday, 21 December 2016," ICC said today (December 14). (Vaughan wants ICC to punish Ashwin)

The Award winners and Teams of the Year will be judged on the performances of players during the 12-month period from 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016.

The Voting Academy, comprising respected members of the cricket media from all the Test playing countries, will decide on the individual awards, while the Selection Panel of Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara will pick the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

Here is the full list of ICC awards for last year (2015)

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Steve Smith (Australia)

Test Cricketer of the Year - Steve Smith (Australia)

ODI Cricketer of the Year - AB de Villiers (South Africa)

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Meg Lanning (Australia)

Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year - Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

T20I Performance of the Year - Faf du Plessis (South Africa) (119, 56 balls, 11x4, 5x6 - 2nd T20I Vs West Indies, 11 January 2015, Johannesburg)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Josh Hazlewood (Australia)

Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Khurram Khan (UAE)

Spirit of Cricket Award - Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)

Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) - Richard Kettleborough (England)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...