Full schedule of India-New Zealand Test and ODI series (September 22 to October 29)

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, June 28: India's 2016-17 home season will begin on September 22 in Kanpur with the 1st Test against New Zealand, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced today (June 28).

Indian team to play 13 Tests; Ind-NZ Test series results

New Zealand will tour India for 3 Tests and 5 One Day Internationals in September and October. Kanpur's Green Park Stadium will host the opening Test while Kolkata and Indore will be the venues for the 2nd and 3rd Tests respectively. Earlier, Kolkata was to host the 3rd Test but in the evening BCCI sent a revised schedule where Eden Gardens was alloted 2nd Test. (Kumble appointed head coach)

India captain Virat Kohli (left) celebrates team's Test victory over South Africa last year in Delhi

The 5-match ODI rubber commences in Dharamsala on October 16. Visakhapatnam will host the 5th and final ODI on October 29.

The series against New Zealand will be the first assignment at home for new head coach Anil Kumble. However, he and Team India will embark on the tour of Caribbean next month to play 4 Tests. After that, India return for a hectice schedule where they play 13 Tests at home.

India's Test captain Virat Kohli took to Twitter to announce the beginning of team's home season in Kanpur, "one of the oldest venues in the country".

"#TeamIndia will begin the home season at one of the oldest venues in the country - KANPUR vs. @BLACKCAPS #IndvNZ 1st Test starts Sept 22," Kohli tweeted to his over 11 million followers on Tuesday.

Along with Kohli, few other Indian players and coach Kumble took to Twitter to announce the home series schedule.

The BCCI president Anurag Thakur told PTI: "The upcoming home series against New Zealand will be very significant and we will be kickstarting an important phase in Indian cricket. The game is about players first. That's the reason we have taken this unique initiative where the players of the national team will announce the schedule.

"It also brings them closer to the fans. Expect more such initiatives in coming days," he added.

Here is the full schedule of India-New Zealand Test and ODI series

1st Test - September 22 (Thursday) to 26 (Monday) (Green Park Stadium, Kanpur) - 9.30 AM IST

2nd Test - September 30 (Friday) to October 4 (Tuesday) (Eden Gardens, Kolkata) - 9.30 AM IST

3rd Test - October 8 (Saturday) to 12 (Wednesday) (Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore) - 9.30 AM IST

5 ODIs (October 16 to 29) - All matches day/night

1st ODI - October 16 (Sunday) - (HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala) - 1.30 PM IST

2nd ODI - October 20 (Thursday) - (Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi) Postponed by 1 day - 1.30 PM IST

3rd ODI - October 23 (Sunday) - (IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali) - 1.30 PM IST

4th ODI - October 26 (Wednesday) - (JSCA Stadium, Ranchi) - 1.30 PM IST

5th ODI - October 29 (Saturday) - (ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam) - 1.30 PM IST

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...