Full list of IPL hat-tricks after Samuel Badree, Andrew Tye join elite list

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, April 14: It was a day of hat-tricks as Indian Premier League saw two of these in a single day. First Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) legspinner Samuel Badree today (April 14) took the first hat-trick of the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) here at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

IPL Special Site; Schedule; Points Table; Photos

Hours later it was Gujarat Lions' Andrew Tye who claimed the second hat-trick of the day as he ripped Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) batting apart with his bowling in the death over. (RCB-MI match scorecard)

Australian pacer Tye's final over yielded only four runs as RPS lost the settled duo of Manoj Tiwary (31), Ankit Sharma (25) and then Shardul Thakur (0) off consecutive deliveries. (RPS-GL match scorecard)

The 36-year-old Badree dismissed Parthiv Patel (3), Mitchell McCleneghan (0) and captain Rohit Sharma (0) to be the first man in IPL 2017 to take three wickets off successive deliveries. It was a triple-wicket maiden. Overall, Badree's was the 15th hat-trick in IPL history.

This was Badree's first game of the season and he was handed the new ball by skipper Virat Kohli. He bowled the first over on a slow M Chinnaswamy Stadium pitch. After 2 overs, Badree's bowling figures were 2-1-4-3. He ended his 4-over quota with 4/9, adding Nitish Rana's scalp on the last ball of his spell.

Badree (right) celebrates with captain Kohli after dismissing McCleneghan. Photo: BCCI

Badree first got the wicket of Parthiv, caught by his West Indies' team-mate Chris Gayle at short cover. Next ball, MI surprised by sending McCleneghan. But he perished trying a big shot off a full toss. The hat-trick ball was a googly which Rohit failed to read and the ball crashed into the middle stump.

Here is the full list of IPL hat-tricks

1. Lakshmipathy Balaji (Chennai Super Kings) Vs Kings XI Punjab in 2008

2. Amit Mishra (Delhi Daredevils) Vs Deccan Chargers in 2008

3. Makhaya Ntini (CSK) Vs Kolkata Knight Riders in 2008

4. Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2009

5. Rohit Sharma (DC) Vs Mumbai Indians in 2009

6. Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) Vs DC 2009

7. Praveen Kumar (RCB) Vs Rajasthan Royals in 2010

8. Amit Mishra (DC) Vs KXIP in 2011

9. Ajit Chandila (RR) Vs Pune Warriors in 2012

10. Sunil Narine (KKR) Vs KXIP in 2013

11. Amit Mishra (Sunrisers Hyderabad) Vs PW in 2013

12. Pravin Tambe (RR) Vs KKR in 2014

13. Shane Watson (RR) Vs SRH in 2014

14. Axar Patel (KXIP) Vs Gujarat Lions in 2016

15. Samuel Badree (RCB) Vs MI in 2017

16. Andrew Tye (GL) Vs RPS in 2017

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...