India have always opposed the use of DRS and hence there is no third umpire assistance for the one-field officials in the ongoing 5-match ODI series. And this time, it was the hosts who suffered.
On Friday (January 15), 28-year-old Rohit was reprieved on 89 by Australian umpire Mick Martell, standing in his 4th ODI. The right-hander had edged a Joel Paris delivery to wicketkeeper Matthew Wade but the umpire ruled it not out. (Jokes begin on Shikhar)
As soon as the ball had settled in Wade's gloves, he started celebrating by tossing the ball high up in the air. He, bowler Paris and other Australian players appealed confidently but Martell was unmoved. They all were stunned.
At the time, India were 170/2 in the 31st over. Rohit, having got this lucky break on 89, went on to register his 10th ton (124) in ODIs, 2nd consecutive three-figure mark. He had smashed a record 171 not out in the 1st ODi in Perth on Tuesday (January 12).
The Television replays confirmed that Rohit had nicked the ball and umpire the erred in his decision-making. The "Snickometre" too proved it.
After the completion of the over, Wade picked up Rohit's bat and indicated to the batsman from where the edge came from, for which the Mumbai man just smiled.
In the 1st ODI, Australia's George Bailey was the beneficiary of a dubious decision from the umpire. Then, he was given a let-off on 0, when he had gloved a ball from debutant paceman Barinder Sran to captain and wicketkeeper MS Dhoni.
Bailey went on to score a century and Australia won the game by 5 wickets, chasing down 310. Later talking to the media, Bailey had said it would have been interesting if DRS was used.
After the loss in Perth, Dhoni maintained his opposition to DRS but had felt the team was suffering by not using the technology.
Irrespective of the result at the Gabba today, DRS will again be one of the major talking points. It was one of those days when India gained without DRS.