CM Arvind Kejriwal to felicitate Delhi's World Cup winners

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 3: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will be present at the Feroz Shah Kotla ground on the third day of the India versus South Africa Test to felicitate Delhi's World Cup winning players of 1983 and 2011.

Along with the World Cup winners, former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi and Sharmila Tagore, wife of late Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi, will also be felicitated.

Virat Kohli and his team-mates carry Sachin Tendulkar after India won the World Cup 2011

"Today, I received a letter from state government's Assistant Director of Education Pradeep Tayal informing that Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will felicitate 10 India players, who have represented the state at various times. The felicitation ceremony will happen at lunch on the third day," DDCA treasurer Ravinder Manchanda told PTI today.

"Out of them, 8 (four each) are from 1983 and 2011 World Cup winning squads. Mr Bedi will be felicitated for his contribution to Indian cricket and Sharmilaji will received it on behalf of here late husband," Manchanda added.

The three players from the 2011 squad are current captain Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Ashish Nehra while 1983 team will be represented by Mohinder Amarnath, Sunil Valson, Kirti Azad, Madan Lal.

"They will be presented with a memento and shawl. The government today took 20 tickets which they will be needing for the function," Manchanda said.

Manchanda also informed that DDCA would felicitate Virender Sehwag when India play Sri Lanka in a T20 match at the Feroz Shah Kotla early next year before the World T20.

"We will organise a separate function to felicitate Virender Sehwag," he said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...