Chethan William blasts Hubli Tigers into KPL 2016 final

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Oct 1: Chethan William blasted a 13-ball 39 not out to take Hubli Tigers into the final of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament here on Saturday evening (October 1).

William smashed 5 sixes, including 2 in the 19th over as Hubli chased down 154 to defeat Belagavi Panthers by 4 wickets in the first semi-final at the KSCA Stadium. Earlier, William had taken 3 wickets.

Hubli TIgers' players celebrate their semi-final victory

Hubli needed 16 from 12 balls and T Pradeep was handed the ball by Belagavi captain R Vinay Kumar, who was to bowl the final over of the match.

The 31-year-old right-hander William sent the first ball of the 19th over for a six and then sealed the game with another six on the 4th ball. Hubli finishing with 156/6 in 18.4 overs.

William and KN Bharath (27 not out, 21 balls, 1x4 2x6) had an unbroken 55-run partnership in just 2.5 overs that turned the contest in favour of Hubli.

William was Hubli's hero as he had blitzed 3 sixes in the 18th over bowled by Sathish Bharadwaj. The equation at the start of the over was 39 off 18 but William changed it in the space of 5 balls.

Earlier, sent to bat first, Belagavi posted 153 for 8 in 20 overs. Opener Anurag Bajpai was the top scorer with 44 runs. William had 3 victims for 41 runs in 4 overs.

Hubli await the winner of Mysuru Warriors and Bellary Tuskers contest. They face off later today. Final will be played at the same venue tomorrow (October 2).

Brief Scores

Belagavi Panthers 153/8 in 20 overs (Anurag Bajpai 44 (27 balls, 7x4, 1x6), R Vinay Kumar 33 (33 balls, 2x4), Chetham William 3/41) lost to Hubli Tigers 156/6 in 18.4 overs (Chethan William 39 not out (13 balls, 1x4, 5x6), Dikshanshu Negi 30 (28 balls, 2x4, 1x6), KN Bharath 27 not out (21 balls, 1x4, 2x6), Abhishek Sakuja 2/25)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...