Champions League T20 scrapped with immediate effect

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, July 15: It is official now. The Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) tournament has been scrapped with immediate effect after just 6 editions. The confirmation of this came from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today.

Also read: CSK win 2014 CLT20 title; 2014 award winners

"The Governing Council of the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) has today confirmed that the CLT20 competition will be discontinued with immediate effect," a media advisory from the Indian cricket board said on Wednesday.

Champions League T20 scrapped with immediate effect

"The Governing Council of the CLT20, comprising representatives of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Cricket South Africa (CSA) and CricketAustralia (CA) made the decision unanimously. As such the 2015 CLT20 scheduled for September and October will not go ahead as planned," it added.

The competition was launched in 2009 by the BCCI with Cricket Australia (CA) and Cricket South Africa (CSA). The Governing Council determined that the discontinuation of the league was the most appropriate decision due to the tournament's limited public following.

CLT20 featured the best T20 sides from India (IPL), Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, England and Pakistan. It was dubbed as "World Cup of club cricket" by the organisers.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) had won the tournament last year after beating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Bengaluru. CSK (2010, 2014) and Mumbai Indians won the title twice (2011, 2013). The other two champions are New South Wales Blues (2009) and Sydney Sixes (2012), both from Australia.

Anurag Thakur, secretary of the BCCI said, "This has been a difficult decision as the Champions League T20 provided added context to a number of domestic Twenty 20 competitions around the world such as the IPL in India, Big Bash League in Australia and South Africa's Ram Slam T20. "

CSK players celebrate with CLT20 trophy in 2014

"It was a fantastic platform for players from around the world to showcase their talent and the participating teams thoroughly enjoyed the experience over the last six seasons. Unfortunately, off the field, Champions League T20 wasn't sustaining the interest of the fans as we had hoped," he added.

He continued, "This decision was made, after consultation with all our commercial partners and meeting the contractual obligations of all parties involved.

"The Governing Council would like to thank everyone involved with the CLT20 and all those who participated in the tournament.

"Further details associated with winding down the league including settling with the three nations that had invested time and effort in the competition, will be completed very soon".

CLT20 Winning Teams

2009 - New South Wales Blues (Australia)

2010 - Chennai Super Kings (India)

2011 - Mumbai Indians (India)

2012 - Sydney Sixers (Australia)

2013 - Mumbai Indians

2014 - Chennai Super Kings

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...