Mirpur (Bangladesh), June 21: Catch controversy hit the second Bangladesh-India One Day International here at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium on Sunday night.
Virat Kohli was unhappy after his catch was ruled not clean by the third umpire and opener Tamim Iqbal had a lucky escape.
In today's match, India were bowled out for 200 in 45 overs. The contest was reduced to 47 overs per side due to rain interruption. Bangladesh beat India by Duckworth-Lewis method for a historic series win. The hosts chased down 200 in 38 overs, losing 4 wickets.
Mustafizur Rahman, the 19-year-old left-arm paceman destroyed India with 6/43 in 10 overs on way to creating history. He had figures of 5/50 in the series opener at the same venue.
As Bangladesh started chasing a revised target 200 in 47 overs (according to Duckworth/Lewis method), Iqbal was the beneficiary of Kohli's catch.
On the 2nd ball of the 2nd over, from Dhawal Kulkarni, Iqbal played a shot towards mid-off where a diving Kohli took the catch and started celebrating.
However, Iqbal (0), stayed on as local umpire Sharfuddoula consulted square-leg umpire and his senior partner Rod Tucker of Australia.
The on-field match officials relayed the message to TV umpire Anisur Rahman that they felt it was not out as the ball might have bounced before settling in Kohli's hands.
After watching several replays and the evidence not conclusive, Iqbal was given the go ahead to resume his innings.
Both Kohli and bowler Kulkarni were upset with the decision. And so were the rest of the Indian players. Kohli even went up to the umpire and had a word. However, Iqbal fell to the same bowler later, in the 7th over, scoring just 13.
Former India cricketer Aakash Chopra and several others felt it was a clean catch and India were robbed of a wicket.