Delhi Test: Off-spinner Ashwin equals Tendulkar, McGrath

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 7: India's off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin today equalled some of the greats of the game including batting legend Sachin Tendulkar.

Match scorecard

Ashwin took another 5-wicket haul on Monday (December 7) at the Feroz Shah Kotla as India routed South Africa by 337 runs in the 4th Test. The hosts won the 4-match series 3-0 on the 5th and final day of the match.

Ashwin (right) and Virat Kohli (left) celebrate after the former dismissed JP Duminy on the 5th day of the Delhi Test

The 29-year-old Ashwin was outstanding throughout the series (Freedom Trophy for Gandhi-Mandela Series). He was the highest wicket-taker with 31 victims. This effort earned him the Man-of-the-series award.

By bagging his 5th Player-of-the-series award, Ashwin equalled Tendulkar, Glenn McGrath, Virender Sehwag and others. This was Ashwin's 12th series. Tendulkar played in 74 series and Sehwag featured in 39.

For India, Ashwin, Tendulkar and Sehwag are on top now followed by Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble and Rahul Dravid (4 awards each). Mohammad Azharuddin, Zaheer Khan and Sourav Ganguly won 3 Player-of-the-series awards apiece.

Tendulkar, in his illustrious 200-Test career, had won 5 Man-of-the-series awards. Ashwin has matched that in just 31 Tests so far. This is a huge achievement for the tall bowler from Tamil Nadu.

Ashwin dedicated the award to the people of his hometown Chennai, who were affected by floods. Heavy rains left 280 people (as on Monday) dead in Chennai. "Happiness got the better of me,I would like to dedicate my man of the series to the ppl suffering from the Chennai floods," he wrote on his Twitter page.

The list is headed by Sri Lanka spin legend Muttaiah Muralitharan, who won 11 Player-of-the-series awards during his 133-Test career.

Most Man-of-the-series awards in Tests (Top 6)

11 - Muttaiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)

9 - Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

8 - Imran Khan (Pakistan), Richard Hadlee (New Zealand), Shane Warne (Australia)

7 - Wasim Akram (Pakistan), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)

6 - Malcolm Marshall (West Indies), Curtly Ambrose (West Indies), Steve Waugh (Australia)

5 - Ashwin, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag (all India), Graham Gooch, Andrew Strauss (both England), Glenn McGrath, Michael Clarke (both Australia), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Waqar Younis (Pakistan)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...