6 Test players in WICB President's XI squad to face Team India in warm-up game

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, July 5: The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has picked 6 Test players in its President's XI squad to face Team India in a two-day warm-up match at Warner Park in St. Kitts.

Ind-WI series schedule

Virat Kohli-led India will begin their tour of the Caribbean on July 9 (Saturday) with a practice match against WICB President's XI.

Leon Johnson will lead WICB President's XI

This is one of the 2 warm-up games scheduled before the 4 Test series against the West Indies commences in Antigua on July 21. India's 2nd warm-up match, also against President's XI will be played at the same venue, from July 14 to 16.

The 12-man squad of WICB President's XI will be captained by Test batsman Leon Johnson. Jermaine Blackwood, Rajendra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope and Joel Warrican are the other 5 players who have Test experience.

Left-handed Johnson scored 807 runs from 10 matches in the 2015-16 WICB Professional Cricket League Regional 4-day tournament. He led Guyana to title triumph in the event.

The 28-year-old Johnson has played 4 Tests and was dropped after the tour of South Africa. However, after his good performance in domestic circuit he has now got a chance to make a comeback to the Test team.

Indian side had a preparatory camp in Bengaluru and will leave for the West Indies tour tomorrow night (July 6) from Mumbai. This will be the first assignment for new head coach Anil Kumble. During the last series in the Caribbean, India won the 3-match Test rubber 1-0.

WICB President's XI Squad: Leon Johnson (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Jason Dawes, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Shai Hope, Damion Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Marquino Mindley, Vishaul Singh, Jomel Warrican.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...