10 facts about India-West Indies World T20 semi-final in Mumbai

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, March 29: All eyes will be on Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle as India and West Indies face off in the 2nd semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 here on Thursday (March 31, 7 PM IST). ('Kohli could be the next Tendulkar')

World T20 Special Site; Semis schedule; Photos; Results and scorecards

Kohli and Gayle, team-mates at the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will be the key men in batting for their sides in the last-four clash at Wankhede Stadium. (Kohli breaks Gayle record)

All eyes will be on Kohli (right). Dhoni (left) can create history with a WT20 semi-final win in Mumbai

Local fans will be hoping for yet another stellar performance from Kohli, who produced a masterclass against Australia in "quarter-final" in Mohali on March 27 (Sunday).

Hosts India hold the edge over their Caribbean rivals having never lost a semi-final in World T20s.

Here are 10 facts about the big India-WI contest

1. This is the first ever meeting in a World T20 semi-final between India and West Indies

2. India and West Indies have met 3 times in World T20 tournaments (2009, 2010 and 2014) - all in Group stages. West Indies lead 2-1

3. Mahendra Singh Dhoni captained India in all 3 previous WT20 matches against WI. Chris Gayle was the skipper for the Caribbean side in 2009 and 2010 while Darren Sammy, the current leader, was in-charge in 2014

4. Gayle holds the highest individual score record of 98 between the teams in World T20s. He hit a 66-ball 98 (5x4, 7x6) in 2010

5. Dwayne Bravo has the best bowling figures among India-WI clashes in WT20. He took 4/38 in 2009 at Lord's

6. The venue for Thursday's semi-final, Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium was the ground where India won the 2011 World Cup, beating Sri Lanka in the final

7. India are playing in their 3rd WT20 semi-final. They won both their past last-four encounters. In 2007 they won the trophy but in the last edition in 2014, they were beaten by Sri Lanka in the title clash

8. West Indies are playing in their 4th WT20 semi-final. They lost 2 (2009, 2014) and won 1 (2012, went on to win the trophy).

9. If India win the semi-final in Mumbai, they will be the second team in WT20 history to reach 3 finals (Past 2 - 2007, 2014). Sri Lanka hold the current record with 3 finals (2009, 2012, 2014)

10. Dhoni will create history if he takes India to the final. No captain has played in 3 WT20 finals

Will Gayle be smiling after the WT20 semi-final?

Results of India-West Indies matches in World T20s

WI lead 2-1 in head-to-head meetings in the global tournament. Overall it is 2-2 between the sides in all T20Is

2009 - WI won by 7 wickets at Lord's (Man-of-the-match: Dwayne Bravo) 

2010 - WI won by 14 runs at Bridgetown, Barbados (Man-of-the-match: Chris Gayle) 

2014 - India won by 7 wickets (Man-of-the-match: Amit Mishra)


West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Johnson Charles.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh (ruled out due to injury), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey.

India's semi-finals record at World T20s

2007 (Host - South Africa) - Beat Australia by 15 runs (Won the trophy, defeating Pakistan in the final by 5 runs)

2014 (Bangladesh) - Beat South Africa by 6 wickets (Lost the final to Sri Lanka by 6 wickets)

West Indies' semi-finals record at World T20s

2009 (England) - Lost to Sri Lanka by 57 runs

2012 (Sri Lanka) - Beat Australia by 7 wickets (Won the trophy, beating Sri Lanka in the final by 3 wickets)

2014 (Bangladesh) - Lost to Sri Lanka by 27 runs (Duckworth/Lewis method)

WT20 finalists

2007 - India (Winner), Pakistan

2009 - Pakistan (Winner), Sri Lanka

2010 - England (Winner), Australia

2012 - West Indies (Winner), Sri Lanka

2014 - Sri Lanka (Winner), India

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...