10 facts about India-Ireland World Cup match in Hamilton

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hamilton, Mar 9: Unbeaten India, who have already qualified for the quarter-finals of ICC World Cup 2015, will face Ireland in their 5th Pool B match tomorrow. (Match preview)

World Cup Special; Points Table; Results

India wrapped up their league engagements in Australia with an all-win record. They won four in a row - against Pakistan, South Africa, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and West Indies. Now two more matches are to be played by them in New Zealand before the knockouts. The final league game is against Zimbabwe on March 14 (6.30 AM IST) in Auckland. (WC photo gallery)

Dhoni is one win away from breaking Kapil's record

For Ireland, they have been impressive so far, winning three games out of four. They wrap up their league formalities on March 15, against Pakistan in Adelaide. ('Sides fear Sangakkara more than Kohli')

Here are 10 facts about India-Ireland game at Seddon Park on March 10 (6.30 AM IST start)

1. This will be the second meeting between the sides at World Cup

2. In their previous match, at 2011 World Cup in Bangalore, India won by 5 wickets

3. Overall in ODIs, India and Ireland have met only twice. India have won both clashes. Their first ever ODI encounter was in 2007 in Belfast when Rahul Dravid-led side emerged victorious by 9 wickets

4. MS Dhoni has a chance to break Kapil Dev's record in this match. If he leads the team to victory tomorrow he will become India's most successful World Cup captain with 12 wins. He is joint record holder with Kapil (11 wins each)

5. India are one win away from achieving their best ever winning streak at World Cup - 9. So far they are unbeaten in 8 matches, having matched their previous best of 8 at 2003 World Cup

6. The highest scorer for India is Gautam Gambhir (80 not out in 2007). In World Cup it is Yuvarj Singh (50 not out in 2011)

7. Yuvaj is the leading wicket-taker for India in World Cups and overall, with a five wickets (5/31 in 2011 WC)

8. In the current side, only Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have previous played against Ireland

9. Dhoni and William Porterfield will be the captains again this time as they were in 2011 WC game

10. Porterfield is the highest individual scorer for Ireland at World Cup. He made 72 in 2011. Trent Johnson and George Dockrell have most wickets against India (2 apiece in 2011 WC)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...