Chidananda-Sujith pair conquers tough terrain to bag Eastern India title

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Dec 1: Despite the tough terrain and highly technical route, the main Team Tata Motors entry of Chidananda Murthy and BS Sujith Kumar clinched another fine win in the Wild Adventure Rally, the eighth and penultimate round of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship, after a late finish here on Sunday (November 30).

Having won rallies in Ranchi and Kolkata and a second place in Bhubaneswar, they emerged as the toppers in the Eastern India TSD Challenge 2014. This makes them the only non-Eastern competitors to have emerged champions in the region.

Sujith (centre) and Chidananda (right) with their trophies and cheques

Murthy-Sujith Kumar have already clinched the 2014 title, and were also the 2012 and 2013 champions in the Pro Stock class. This year, the Bangalore duo has clinched six straight wins out of eight rounds to make it a year to remember. The remaining round is in Chennai next month. As of now, Murthy-Sujith Kumar have 174 points in their kitty and are confident about clinching the maximum 25 points in the last round too.

"We have made winning a habit and this only gives us more confidence, particularly because it was a tough event. Needless to say, we would like to win the last round in Chennai as well," said Chidananda Murthy.

Sujith Kumar added: "It was a tough event in Ranchi, both for man and machine as the event was tough and challenging. But we enjoyed competing and are happy to have won."

In the Pro Expert category, Team Tata Motors' Ajgar Ali-Mohammad Musthafa won here to take the lead in the championship. They now have 148 points, while KP Karthik Maruthi-Sankar Anand have 144.

Team Tata Motors' Sheena Sabharwal-Sumantika Choudhury won in the All Ladies Class.


Pro Stock: 1. Chidananda Murthy/ BS Sujith Kumar (Team Tata Motors, 04:10 minutes penalty); 2. Saurav Chatterjee/ Ashoke Kumar Basu (06:02); 3. Vikas Puttur/ Moulinath Ghosh (Team Tata Motors, 18:36).

Pro Expert: 1. Ajgar Ali/Md Musthafa (Team Tata Motors, 01:43 minutes penalty); 2. MD Ganesh Moorthy/T Nagarajan (Team Tata Motors, 01:46); 3. KP Karthik Maruthi/S Sankar Anand (01:58).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...