Asian Games 2014: 9,296 media members register online

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Asian Games 2014: 9,296 media members register online
Incheon (South Korea), Sep 11: As many as 9,296 members (65 from India) of the media have registered for 2014 Incheon Asian Games, the organisers have announced.

The 17th edition of the Asian Games will be held in Incheon from September 19 to October 4. The media registration for the Games closed on September 3.

"The total members of media registered online is 9,296, including TV networks and press," the organisers said in a press release.

"The TV networks are comprised of 3,300 from the Incheon Asian Games Host Broadcasting Management (IHB) and 2,896 members of 24 Rights Holding Broadcasts (RHB) from 14 countries that combines to 6,196 media staff while the press is composed of 1,310 journalists from 232 local press and 1,790 personnel from 565 agencies of 32 countries, including North Korea, that adds up to 3,100 members of the press. 36% out of the total press registration, 1,123 media staff members, are camera reporters," they added.

Host nationl South Korea has the maximum number of registrations with 1,087.

"If registered media staffs are classified by nations, Korean media members registered 1,087 media crew from major TV networks, such as KBS, MBC and SBS, while Japanese media registered 770 individuals from TBS and NHK," the organisers said.

CCTV of China registered 370 people and TPT of Thailand registered 142 staff members. All of these media will relay broadcasting during the Games. Japanese and Chinese make up the majority of the foreign press. Both countries will send more than 300 press members. Chinese press, including Xinhua News Agency, registered 387 and Japanese press, including Kyodo News Agency, registered 383 press members.

If 107 media members from Taiwan, 67 from Hong Kong and 24 from Macau are added, total press members in the great China region are 585. Also, while major global foreign press, such as Reuters, AP, AFP and Getty Image, registered 166 people, most South East Asian and South Asian countries registered two digital press members; Thailand and Indonesia are sending 83 each, 65 from India, 59 from Vietnam, 48 from Bangladesh, 36 from Malaysia, and 31 media members from Iran to report the Incheon Asian Games. North Korea registered about 20 press crew.

12 countries out of 45 OCA (Olympic Council of Asia) member countries, such as Bhutan, Brunei, East Timor, Cambodia, Myanmar, Yemen, Palestine, Syria, Kyrkizstan, Tazkizstan, and Moldaiv, did not register any media members.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...