PM Modi-led panels to select chiefs of CIC, CVC today

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 23: Selection committees led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi were set to meet here on Saturday to decide appointments of chiefs of the Central Information Commission (CIC) and Central Vigilance Commission (CVC). [Impressed by PM Modi's commitment to clean energy: Bloomberg]

The meeting was due to be held at the PM's residence, reports said. [1 year of Modi Sarkar: Internal security review]


Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Leader of Congress party in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and Minister of Personnel Jitendra Singh are likely to be present at the meeting.

The post of the chief information commissioner is lying vacant since August 22, 2014, when the term of Rajiv Mathur had ended. Positions for three information commissioners are also lying vacant in the CIC.

The CIC, as per rules, has one chief and 10 information commissioners.

In the CVC, Central Vigilance Commissioner Pradeep Kumar and Vigilance Commissioner JM Garg completed their terms on September 28 and September 7 last year, respectively.

The CVC is headed by a centrakl vigilance commissioner and features two vigilance commissioners. A former director general of Central Industrial Security Force is acting as the interim chief of the transparency watchdog.

The selection committees for both the CIC and CVC are chaired by the prime minister. The selection panel for the CIC features a Union cabinet minister nominated by the prime minister and the opposition leader in the Lok Sabha.

The panel for the CVC comprises the Union home minister and the opposition leader.

Since there is no leader of the opposition in the Lok Sabha now, Kharge was included in the selection panel for both the key posts.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...