Lok Sabha poll 2014: Narendra Modi to contest from Varanasi

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Narendra Modi to contest from Varanasi
New Delhi, Mar 15: The big suspense over BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi's election seat for the Lok Sabha election came to an end on late Saturday night after the party announced its fourth list of candidates for 50 seats.

Narendra Modi will be contesting the Lok Sabha election from Varanasi. The party also announced big names like M M Joshi who will contest from Kanpur while Rajnath Singh will be contesting from Lucknow and Arun Jaitley will be contesting from Amritsar.

Varun Gandhi will contest from Sultanpur whereas Menaka Gandhi will contest from Philbit.

The big announcement over Modi's seat came to an end after much speculation as M M Joshi was keen on contesting the elections from Varanasi. Joshi is also the sitting MP from Varanasi. Kiron Kher will be contesting from Chandigarh.

M M Joshi will contest from Kanpur while Rajnath Singh will contest from Lucknow

BJP spokesperson Meenakshi Lekhi will contest from New Delhi constituency whereas Delhi BJP chief Harshvardhan will contest from Chandni Chowk. Uma Bharti will  contest from Jhansi, while Ramesh Pokhriyal will contest from Haridwar.

Shatrughan Sinha will be contesting from Patna Sahib.

Varanasi seat was crucial as Uttar Pradesh contributes to maximum seats in the Lok Sabha election and the BJP is currently riding high on Modi wave in the state.

The party will hold its next meeting on Mar 19 to declare the Gujarat seats.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...