Lok Sabha polls 2014: Congress releases second list of candidates

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Cong releases second list of candidates
New Delhi, Mar 13: The Congress party on Thursday released its second Lok Sabha candidate list on its website. The list has 72 names.

Congress has decided to field former Congress UP chief Rita Bhauguna Joshi from Lucknow, actor-turned- politician Raj Babbar from Ghaziabad and actress Nagma from Meerut constituency.

Big surprise in the list was Pawan Kumar Bansal, who will be contesting the Lok Sabha polls from Chandigarh.

Read the complete list here

There was wide speculation as to who will the party field from Chandigarh considering Information and Broadcast Minister Manish Tewari was keen on contesting from Chandigarh and recently Pawan Kumar Bansal was named in the Railgate scam.

Some other names announced in the list were Janardhana Poojary from Dakshina Kannada, Rizwan Arshad from Bangalore Central, Veerappa Moily from Chikkballapur, Shashi Tharoor from Thiruvananthapuram and Mahendra Gautam from Kaushambi.

Shashi Tharoor has been fielded from Thiruvananthapuram

Senior party leader Begum Noor Bano has been fielded from Moradabad, a Muslim-majority seat. In an earlier Lok Sabha, she had represented Rampur.

The party has named Tarun Patel from Domariyaganj seat, which was represented by Jagdambika Pal who has left Congress.

The lone party MP from Jharkhand Subodhkant Sahay again got a nomination despite opposition from a section of the leadership who doubted his winnability.

Pratibha Singh, wife of Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, has been renominated from Mandi and Hamidullah Sayeed from Lakshadweep. Sagar Meghe has been fielded from Wardha in place of his father Dutta Meghe.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...