Grateful to the party: Narendra Modi tweets after bagging Varanasi

Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, March 15: BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi on Saturday thanked his party after the latter decided to field him from Varanasi constituency in Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming Lok Sabha election. "Grateful to the party," he tweeted.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote" lang="en"><p>With blessings of Ganga Mata & Kashi Vishwanath, let us work towards success of Mission272+ & create a strong, vibrant & prosperous India.</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="">March 15, 2014</a></blockquote> <script async src="//" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote" lang="en"><p>Grateful to the Party for giving me opportunity to contest the election from the holy city of Varanasi! An honour to contest from Varanasi.</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="">March 15, 2014</a></blockquote> <script async src="//" charset="utf-8"></script>

The BJP announced its crucial fourth list of candidates in which the decision on Modi's candidature was revealed.

Narendra Modi is set to contest the LS poll from two seats

The party took almost 12 hours to make the fourth list final. Modi's candidature from Varanasi had hit an obstacle after the sitting BJP MP from the seat, Dr Murli Manohar Joshi, objected to vacating the seat for the former. The resistance was overruled, however, and Joshi was shifted to Kanpur constituency. Party president Rajnath Singh will contest from Lucknow although the sitting MP, Lalji Tandon, raised objection. The same happened with Amritsar in Punjab where sitting MP Navjot Singh Sidhu resisted the idea of vacating the seat for senior party leader Arun Jaitley.

The BJP announced names of candidates from seats in 12 states in its fourth list, including Varun Gandhi, Maneka Gandhi, Shatrughan Sinha, Kirron Kher, Harsh Vardhan and others.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...