Delhi: BJP, Congress candidates file nominations for mayoral polls

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 19: BJP and Congress candidates on Monday filed their nominations for the posts of mayors and deputy mayors for the upcoming mayoral polls.

The elections for SDMC and EDMC will be held on April 27 while for NDMC it will take place on April 28. BJP councilor Sanjiv Naiyar filed nomination for the post of mayor at North Delhi Municipal Corporation.


Party councilors Pravesh Wahi and Vijay Prakash Pandey filed nomination papers for membership of the standing committee to which they will be elected unopposed.

BJP councillor Tarachand Bansal filed his papers for the post of deputy mayor of NDMC. In SDMC and EDMC, Congress has fielded its candidates Praveen Rana and Taj Mohammed for the election to the mayoral post in the resepctive civic bodies.

The elections in EDMC and NDMC appear mere formalities due to clear majority of BJP councillors. However, in SDMC the gap between BJP and Congress members is narrow.

The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act provides one year term of mayor and deputy mayor at the three civic bodies formed after trifurcation of the the erstwhile unified MCD in 2012. BJP councilor Satya Sharma filed nomination paper for the post of mayor at EDMC.

Jitendra Chaudhary and Sanjay Jain who filed nominations for members are slated to be elected unopposed as the Leader of House and chairman of standing committee of the BJP-dominated civic body. Raj Kumar Dhillon filed nomination as BJP candidate for the post of deputy mayor aginst Raj Kumari of Congress.

The outgoing mayor of SDMC Subhash Arya and Shailendra Singh Monty filed nominations for membership of standing committee. They are slated to be elected unopoosed as Leader of House and chairman of the committee.

Shashiprabha will be BJP's candidate for deputy mayor's post. Congress' Satish Gupta amd Farhad Suri also filed nomination for deputy mayor post and standing committee membership respectively. There are three vacancies of members in Standing Committee of East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

Election to these posts would be unanimous as same number of nominations have been filed.


Please Wait while comments are loading...