Delhi BJP announces candidates for bypoll in 13 municipal wards

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 17: BJP on Sunday announced the names of its candidates, including three ex MLAs, for the municipal corporation by-polls scheduled to be held next month in 13 wards of Delhi.

Former MLAs Mahender Nagpal and Jintender Singh Shunty will contest the elections from Wajirpur and Jhilmil wards respectively.


Vinod Kumar Binny, who was elected MLA from Laxmi Nagar constituency on AAP ticket in 2013 and had later switched over to BJP, has been fielded by the party from Khichripur ward.

Delhi BJP president Satish Upadhyay announced the list of candidates for 13 wards, including Anil Sinha (Quamruddin Nagar), Bhupender Mohan Bhandari (Shalimarbagh North), Nitin Tiwari (Ballimaran), Krishan Gehlot (Nawada), Sunil Jindal (Vikas Nagar), Ashok Sharma (Matiala), Nitin Sharma (Nanakpura), Mrs Sudesh Tokas (Munirka), Ishwar Singh Prdhan (Bhati), Sunil Bidhuri (Tehkhand).

The election committee of Delhi BJP had discussed the party candidates' names in a meeting on April 10, following which the names were again deliberated upon in a marathon meeting of the senior party leaders yesterday and the list was finally announced.

Aam Aadmi Party and Congress have already announced names of their candidates for the by-polls. Of the 13 wards where by-elections will be held, seven fall under the jurisdiction of SDMC, four in NDMC and two in EDMC.

The posts of Councillors in the 13 wards fell vacant after nine of them resigned on becoming legislators in the 2013 Assembly elections and four after the 2015 polls. The notification for the by-polls will be issued by the State Election Commission tomorrow.

As per the schedule announced earlier by the Wlection Commission, April 25 will be the last date for filing of nominations. Votes will be cast on May 15 and counting will begin on May 17.


Please Wait while comments are loading...