Cong retains Arunachal, SDF wins in Sikkim in Assembly elections

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Sikkim, Arunachal assembly results out
New Delhi, May 17: Sikkim CM Pawan Chamling is all set to become the country's longest serving chief minister. Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), won the assembly election by 2/3 majority in Sikkim assembly. The assembly election results were declared on Friday.

SDF won its fifth consecutive term in the assembly elections. Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling has been the CM of the state since December 12, 1994 and has completed 20 years at the post.

Meanwhile Congress retained Arunachal Pradesh in the Assembly elections. The party won 35 of the total 60 assembly seats, including 11 which it won uncontested and leading in nine constituencies.

People's Party of Arunachal won three seats and was leading in two seats according to last reports. Former chief minister Gegong Apang of BJP lost to Alo Libang of Congress in Tuting-Yingkiong seats by 364 votes.

With agency inputs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...