BJP's seventh list out: Bappi Lahiri to contest from West Bengal

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bappi Lahiri
New Delhi, March 21: The BJP on Friday announced its seventh candidates' list for the upcoming Lok Sabha election. Musician Bappi Lahiri, who recently joined the party, got the ticket from Serampore constituency in West Bengal.

Swarup Prasad Ghosh, a professor, has been fielded from Jadavpur constituency in Kolkata. Ghosh will take on CPI(M)'s Sujan Chakraborti and Trinamool Congress's Sugata Bose, a Harvard scholar and grand nephew of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose from this seat.

Former minister and founder of BSR Congress B Sriramulu, who recently joined the BJP despite objection from senior leader like Sushma Swaraj, will contest from Bellary in Karnataka. Bhagwan Khuba and CH Vijay Shankar have been given fielded from Bidar and Hassan constituencies, respectively, from the southern state.

B Sriramulu will contest the election from Bellary in Karnataka

The BJP also named six candidates from Tamil Nadu where it forged an alliance with five parties on Thursday.

Earlier on Thursday, BJP patriarch LK Advani agreed to contest from Gandhinagar seat in Gujarat despite raising a strong objection to his candidature from that seat initially.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...