BJP MPs goof up! Vote against the GST Bill in Parliament by mistake

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 7: On Wednesday, Lok Sabha approved the long-pending GST Bill by 354 votes against 37 after the government rejected the opposition demand of referring it to Standing Committee [Lok Sabha approves long-pending GST bill, paves way for uniform tax regime]

However during the voting 12 members of the BJP wrongly voted against a clause, which prompted Finance Minister Arun Jaitley to urge the Speaker to have a re-division of votes.

GST Bill vote: 12 BJP MPs goof up

According to reports, during the voting of clause 2, 12 BJP MPs voted against it. Jaitley quickly turned to BJP MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy who then instructed the 12 MPs how to use the electronic voting mechanism.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan then called for a re-vote which saw the number of votes against the Bill going down 5 from 24 and those supporting it rose to 354 from the earlier 264.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was not present in the House at the time of voting.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...