EC announces election dates for Delhi, MP, Rajasthan, Mizoram, Ch'garh

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Elections in 5 states
New Delhi, Oct 4: The Election Commission on Friday, Oct 4 announced the schedule for assembly elections in five states of Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

The poll schedule was finalised at a meeting of the Commission chaired by Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath and two Election Commissioners H S Brahma and Nasim Zaidi, where other top EC officials were also present.

Sampath, while speaking at the press conference held in the national capital on Friday, informed that assembly elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases. Other four states will held polls in one phase, added Sampath.

As a facilitation measure Voter ID slips will be distributed by the staff of Election Commission (EC). The process of distributing voter ID slips will be executed ahead of the elections in the states.

Sampath also informed that voters also will get 'None of the above' (NOTA) option for the first time in the upcoming polls in these five states.

Election in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases -- 1st phase will be held on Nov 11 and Nov 19 respectively. Assembly elections in Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram will be held on Dec 4, Nov 25, Dec 1 and Dec 4 respectively.

Counting of all assembly elections in all five states will be held on Dec 8, 2013. Two by-elections in Gujarat and Tamil Nadu will be held on Dec 4.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...