Aam Aadmi Party picks two municipal councillors for Delhi polls

Subscribe to Oneindia News
AAP names two municipal councillors
New Delhi, Sept 23: This can be termed as a blow to the BJP and Congress. On Sunday the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) named two municipal councillors, who were formerly associated with BJP and Congress, as its candidates from Vikas Puri and Uttam Nagar Assembly for the upcoming elections.

The party finalised the name of Mahinder Yadav, as its candidate from Vikas Puri. He was earlier associated with the BJP for over a decade.

Yadav was an active part of the anti-corruption movement led by Anna Hazare. He quit BJP in 2012 and contested the municipal elections as an independent candidate.

On the other hand, Deshraj Raghav, an independent councillor from SDMC will represent Uttam Nagar for AAP. Raghav also was with the Congress for a long time. He left the party last year and won the municipal polls as an independent candidate.

The Kejriwal led AAP wil also be roping in Veena Anand as its candidate from Patel Nagar. AAP has announced 56 candidates totally for the upcominf Assembly elections.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...