54 members retire from Rajya Sabha; Parliament gives warm farewell

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Rajya Sabha gives farewell to members
New Delhi, Feb 18: Rajya Sabha on Tuesday gave a warm send off to 54 members who retired.

The sendoff was done amid recollection of some nostalgic moments and experiences.

"...Today, we bid farewell to some of our colleagues, who are retiring in the months of April and May this year on completion of their term of office," Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari said.

54 members from Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal will be completing their term of office, reported media.

Addressing retiring members, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said, "As I listen to farewell speeches, I do get a feeling that there is something uniting us regardless of caste, class and religion...I join all other colleagues in bidding farewell. I wish them best of luck."

15 of the retiring members have been re-elected.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...