PM Modi at CM Fadnavis's swearing-in, history repeats itself after 12 years

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Fadnavis Modi: How history reran
Mumbai, Oct 31: History repeated itself on Friday when Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrived at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai for the swearing-in ceremony of Devendra Fadnavis, the first BJP leader to become the chief minister of Maharashtra.

On December 22, 2002, the then prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and the deputy prime minister, Lal Krishna Advani, attended a grand ceremony in Ahmedabad when Narendra Modi took oath as the chief minister of Gujarat for the second time and the first time after an election. Modi first became the chief minister when he replaced Keshubhai Patel on October 7, 2001.

A number of chief ministers, including Jayalalithaa (Tamil Nadu), Babulal Marandi (Jharkhand) and Om Prakash Chautala (Haryana) attended Modi's oath-taking ceremony besides a number of Union ministers and several supporters. Similarly on Friday, a number of BJP chief ministers and those belonging to the NDA attended the event.

Other similarities between the two oath-taking ceremony is the size of the cabinet and the venue of the event. While Modi had nine cabinet ministers sworn in along with him at the Sarder Patel Stadium, Fadnavis was also set to take oath with nine other ministers at the Wankhede Stadium.

Lal Krishna Advani, Murli Manohar Jodhi were also present on both occasion.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...