Bengal polls: All 294 constituencies to have observers on counting day

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, May 14: All 294 Assembly constituencies in West Bengal will have an observer each during the counting of votes on May 19.

Assembly Polls 2016 Coverage 

"Altogether 294 counting observers - one for each Assembly constituency - will be deployed in West Bengal on May 19 for counting of votes," state Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Gupta said in Kolkata today after a review meeting with district magistrates.



The poll panel has also arranged for tight security measure during the counting process and a huge contingent of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) will be deployed.

The six-phase Assembly polls began in West Bengal on April 4 and concluded on May 5. The results will be declared on May 19.

Gupta said it is up to the local administration to decide whether to ban victory rallies after the results are declared.

"The Election Commission's mandate extends till the counting and end of poll process. Any steps after that will be taken by the local administration," he said replying to a question on district administration barring victory rallies to prevent post-poll violence.


Please Wait while comments are loading...