Bengal poll Phase 2: Trinamool's district-wise seat tally as per 2011 results

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, April 15: The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) of West Bengal will have the biggest test of the ongoing Assembly election in the third phase (technically second) due to be held on Sunday (April 17).

This phase, which will see election in 56 seats in seven districts in northern and central Bengal, will the TMC's biggest headache for it is in a weakest position among all the major forces.

west- bengal

If we go by the 2011 results in the 56 seats that are going to the polls on Sunday, we will see that the TMC had won in only 18 of them. The Congress also has 18 seats while the Left has 15. Three belong to the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha while two won by others.

Here is a breakdown of the TMC's seats, district-wise:

  • Alipurduar district [this district though didn't exist in 2011]: Contested in 3 seats out of 5; won 1
  • Jalpaiguri district: Contested in 4 seats out of 7; won 2
  • Darjeeling district: Contested in 1 seat; won 1
  • North Dinajpur district: Contested in 4 seats; won 2
  • South Dinajpur district: Contested in 5 seats; won 5
  • Malda district: Contested in 3 seats; won 1
  • Birbhum district: Contested in 9 seats; won 3

In all, the TMC contested in 29 of those 56 seats and won in 18 of them. In 2011, Mamata Banerjee's party had an alliance with the Congress in many districts where the latter is a strong force. This time, the Congress has an electoral understanding with the Left, also a powerful player in the northern and central parts. How much successful will the TMC be in taking on the united Opposition?

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...