Rajasthan: Modi, Rajnath hold meeting, deny ticket to 6 BJP MLAs

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Rajasthan assembly Poll
Jaipiur, Nov 6: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) prime ministerial candidate -- Narendra Modi and its President -- Rajnath Singh along with other leaders held a crucial meeting ahead of Rajasthan assembly election which has been scheduled to be held on Dec 1.

The leaders, while distributing tickets for the upcoming poll in the western state of the country, denied tickets to six sitting MLAs of the party. Modi and other BJP leaders, during the party's central election committee (CEC) on Tuesday approved candidates for 176 seats.

BJP general secretary Anant Kumar informed that while six sitting MLAs have been denied party tickets, two former MPs are being fielded in the assembly poll.

BJP denied tickets to six sitting MLAs for Rajasthan assembly elections

"Out of the 176 candidates finalised by the CEC, 35 are youths, 20 women, 30 belong to Schedule Castes(SC) and 24 Schedule Tribes (ST). The party has fielded two ST candidates from general seats," said Kumar while informing about CEC meeting.

Kumar also stated that BJP's Vasundhara Raje will be contesting from Jhalrapatan, while leader of the opposition in the outgoing assembly, Gulab Chand Kataria is the party candidate in Udaipur. The BJP is fielding senior party leader Kiran Maheshwari from Rahsamand assembly constituency.

Raje loyalist and former PWD and parliamentary affairs minister Rajendra Rathore, who was jailed for the alleged fake encounter of bootlegger Dara Singh but released later, will contest from Churu.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...