Countries that have made same sex marriage legal

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, June 30: The 14 US states that have levied a ban on same sex marriages will no longer be able to execute the regulation after the US Supreme Court ruled that gay marriages are legal across the US.

Not US alone, close to 20 states have also ruled in favour of the LGBT community, allowing same sex marriages. Ireland was the first European country to introduce same sex marriages through popular vote. Close to 62% of the population voted in favour of the gays and the lesbians.


Greenland too has legalised the knot However, the measures are due to be effective from Oct 1, 2015. According to Forbes statistics, the countries that have legalised same sex marriages include:

  • Argentina
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • England/Wales
  • Finland
  • France
  • Brazil 
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Spain
  • The Netherlands
  • Uruguay
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • New Zealand
  • Sweden
  • United States

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...