Who will be UP's next CM? Here are the probables

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

It has been a BJP tsunami in Uttar Pradesh. It is certain that the BJP is forming the government in Uttar Pradesh as it heads for a resounding victory in the state.

There are a couple of factors that BJP would bear in mind before chosing a CM candidate. The social composition of castes who voted for the BJP would be one major factor. The BJP would also keep in mind that it would require a very good performance in order to win the 2019 elections. The entire election in UP this year has worked on the non-Yadav OBC and upper caste mobilisation. Hence the party would need to choose a candidate who can keep both happy.

Here are the other frontrunners for the CM's post

Rajnath Singh

It may be recalled that Union Home Minister, Rajnath Singh was initially a frontrunner to the post. However he indicated that he had no intentions of leaving Delhi.


Keshav Maurya

Maurya is in the hot seat and is a frontrunner to the coveted post of UP chief minister. The reason why Maurya's name has cropped up is because the BJP worked on the non-Yadav OBC and upper caste mobilisation to rope in the votes.


Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath

The priest-turned-politician never shies away from making controversial remarks, be it about Pakistan or Islam. The 44-year-old leader also rebelled against his party on several occasions, but because of the sway he holds over the 'Hindu' voters, the BJP can't ignore his 'leadership qualities.'


MP Santosh Gangwar

Gangwar, from the Kurmi community, is a veteran BJP member of Parliament since 1989, losing only one election in 2009 by a narrow margin. His community has traditionally voted for the BJP in the Rohelkhand region.


Telecom Minister and Ghazipur MP Manoj Sinha

A graduate from the Benaras University, Sinha belongs to the Bhumihar community. He has also been the minister of state for railways.


Uma Bharti

The Cabinet minister was one of the most controversial figures in the Ram Janmabhoomi movement and has been chief minister before. She resigned from the post in August 2004, when an arrest warrant was issued against her regarding the 1994 Hubli riot case.


Kalraj Mishra

The Brahmin leader a member of parliament of the same from Deoria constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He was a cabinet minister in UP government holding the portfolios of public works, medical education and tourism during March 1997 -- August 2000 period.


OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...