Voting for Chandigarh, 10 Haryana LS seats tomorrow

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, April 9: About 1.55 Crore voters, including 71 lakh women, will seal the fate of 251 candidates in fray for the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana tomorrow.

Chief Electoral Officer of Haryana Shrikant Walgad said 60 Companies of Central Para Military Forces and 44,000 personnel of Haryana Police and Home Guards have been deployed to ensure the peaceful conduct of polling.

He said all necessary arrangements, including checking of Electronic Voting Machines, have been done for the polling at 16,129 polling stations, including 11,644 in rural areas.

The 10 Lok Sabha seats will witness four cornered contests between the candidates of ruling Congress, BJP-HJC BL combine, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and new entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) though a total of 251 candidates are in the fray.

Meanwhile about six lakh voters will seal the fate of 17 candidates for the lone Lok Sabha seat from Chandigarh Union Territory. The main contestants include sitting Congress MP Pawan Bansal, Kirron Kher (BJP) and Gul Panang (AAP) and Jannat Jahan (BSP).

In Haryana Congress's Naveen Jindal, Arvind Sharma and Avtar Singh Bhadana are seeking third term from Kurukshetra, Karnal and Faridabad respectively. Congress nominee of 2009 general election Rao Inderjit Singh is also trying to enter the the Lok Sabha for the third successive term, but this time on the nomination of the saffron party BJP.


Please Wait while comments are loading...