Uttarakhand Election Results 2017: BJP trounces Congress

Subscribe to Oneindia News

This one is a direct contest between traditional rivals BJP and Congress. As the state has seen in the past, a high voter turnout is usually the sign of change, so the BJP is hoping that it holds true in the state. Five years ago, it had lost the chance of forming the government when the Congress won 32 (with the help of the BSP) and the saffron party 31.

Ajay Bhatt

Click Here for the LIVE Updates:

But since then, several Congress leaders have jumped ship and joined the BJP -- this includes former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna (who is not contesting the election this time).

Either party will need 36 seats to form the government.

The Uttarakhand election results will be announced on Saturday giving clarity on who will govern the hill state that has seen hectic political drama all of 2016. The two-way battle between the BJP and the incumbent Congress government has seen many rebels switch parties and contesting from same constituencies but on different party tickets. The fight for Uttarakhand was neck to neck in 2012 elections as well with the Congress winning 32 seats and the BJP winning 31.

Winning 36 of the 70 assembly constituency seats in Uttarakhand will ensure a party's absolute win the elections. 4 out of 6 exit polls have predicted a comfortable win for the BJP in Uttarakhand while two others predict it to be a tug-of-war between the Congress and the BJP.

[Exit Poll 2017 at a glance]

Catch all the updates for the Uttarakhand assembly election results 2017 right here:

6.00 pm: BJP's Saurav Bahuguna, son of Vijay Bahuguna, wins Sitarganj by defeating Malti Biswas of the Congress by 28,540 votes

5.30 pm: BJP wins 56 seats; leads in one, Congress wins 11 and Others 2

4.27 pm: BJP state president Ajay Bhatt loses from Ranikhet by 4,981 to Karan Mahara of the Congress.

4.15 pm: BJP: 32 wins; 25 leading, Congress: 8 wins; 3 leading and Independent candidates: 1 win; 1 leading: Election Commission

3.45 pm: Uttarakhand: Harish Rawat tenders resignation from the post of CM

3.05 pm: Uttarakhand BJP President and sitting MLA Ajay Bhatt loses home seat of Ranikhet

3.05 pm: BJP has won 80% seats

2.05 pm: Uttarakhand trends: BJP--55, Congress--8 and Others--2

2.05 pm: BJP wins 3 and Congress 2 seats

13.06 pm: BJP is leading in 55 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand assembly, while the ruling Congress was racing ahead in 11 -- except Chief Minister Harish Rawat who lost both his Haridwar (Rural) Kichha seats. Trends are available now for all 70 seats out of which BJP leads in 55, Congress in 11 and Independents in 4, the state election office here said.

11.23 am: Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat loses from Kichha seat

11.55 am: Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat loses from Haridwar rural seat

11.15 am: Uttarakhand Leads: BJP--52, Congress: 16 and Independent-- 2

10.35 am: Uttarakhand Leads: BJP - 54, Congress - 13, BSP - 1, Other - 1

10.35 am: BJP cadres celebrate victory in Dehradun

9.50 am: Uttarakhand leads: BJP - 48, Congress - 12 and BSP - 1

9.27 am: Chief Minister Harish Rawat trailing from Haridwar Rural seat.

9.25 am: Leads in Uttarakhand: BJP 44, Congress 12, Others 1

9.22 am: BJP gets early lead with 37 seats, Congress at 10, while BSP and Others get 1 each.

9.20 am: The Bharatiya Janata Party has been projected to unseat Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat -- the majority mark is 36.

9.09 am: Leads: BJP 15, Congress 8

9.05am: Uttarakhand: Congress and BJP leading on 10 each, reports ANI.

8.58 am: Lead: BJP 3, Congress 3

8.52 am: Lead: BJP 4, Congress 1

8.45 am: What will happen in constituencies with turncoat candidates? With a number of Congress turncoats trying their luck as BJP candidates this time it will be interesting to watch what happens in constituencies like Narendranagar, Bajpur, Roorkee, Khanpur, Kedarnath, Kotdwar, Sitarganj and Nainital from where erstwhile Congress rebels or their wards have been fielded by the saffron party: Reports PTI

8.45 am: Lead - BJP 1 Congress 1

8.36 am: Counting of votes at 15 centres across Uttarakhand is underway

8.15 am: In Uttarakhand, no party might get a majority. According to experts, both the BJP and the Congress are likely to miss getting absolute majority in the 70-member assembly in the state. The independent candidates will again hold the key. Parties like the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Uttarakhand Krandi Dal are likely to win one or two seats.

7.00 am: Ahead of results, incumbent Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat is confident of the Congress' win. He is ready to welcome independent candidates in government formation even if the Congress gets the majority.

Assembly Poll Results 2012: Uttarakhand
Parties Won
INC 32
BJP 31
BSP 03
Others 03
Uttarakhand Kranti Dal 01

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...