Two former Cong MLAs join BJP in Manipur

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Imphal, Oct 17: Two former Congress MLAs today joined BJP ahead of the upcoming state elections due in early 2017.

The former Congress MLAs, N Biren and Francis Ngajokpa were warmly received by BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav, BJP's National Democratic Alliance Convenor Himanta Biswa and state party President Bhabananda here.

Manipur: 2 former Cong MLAs join BJP

Ngajokpa had tendered his resignation from the house as well as from the primary membership of the party on October 13 and N Biren on October 6 this year.

Though Ngajokpa maintained that he had resigned from Congress due to the pressure of his voters of Tadubi in Senapati district, N Biren alleged that the present incumbent Ibobi Singh government had failed to bring good governance in the state.

Earlier in September last, veteran Congress MLA Y Erabot was the first to resign from the party to join BJP.


Please Wait while comments are loading...