West Bengal bypoll results: TMC wins Krishanganj, takes massive lead in Bongaon LS seat

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Feb 16: Trinamool Congress on Monday won the bypoll in Krishnaganj Assembly seat by a margin of almost 37,000 votes and took a massive lead in Bongaon Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal.

TMC candidate Satyajit Biswas, who secured 95,397 votes, won the Krishnaganj seat by a margin of 36,960 votes over his nearest rival BJP's Manabendra, who got 58,398 votes.

TMC chief Mamata Banerjee

The CPI(M), which suffered the biggest casualty in the bypolls, secured the third position by securing 37,614 votes. In 2011 the CPI(M) was the first runner up in this seat.

The Congress secured the fourth position. In Bongaon (SC) Lok Sabha seat, TMC candidate Mamatabala Thakur is ahead of her nearest BJP rival Subrata Saha by 84,000 votes after seventh round of counting. In this seat too, CPI(M) candidate Debesh Das has been pushed to the third position by BJP.

The bypolls are considered to be important ahead of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation election this year and Assembly elections in 2016.

A voter turnout of 79.80 and 81.80 per cent respectively was recorded on February 13 in the by-elections to Bongaon Lok Sabha seat and Krishnaganj Assembly seat.

The Bongaon LS seat fell vacant after the death of Trinamool Congress member Kapil Krishna Thakur on October 13 last year. His wife Mamatabala Thakur was nominated by TMC to contest the by-election. The BJP has fielded Subrata Thakur for the Bongaon LS seat. Subrata is the son of Manjul Krishna Thakur, who quit as a minister in Trinamool Congress government and joined the BJP last month.

Former minister Debesh Das is the CPI(M) nominee while Congress has fielded Kuntal Mondal as its candidate for the seat.

In the Krishnaganj seat, the election was being held due to the death of the sitting TMC MLA Sushil Biswas on October 21 last year. TMC has fielded local party leader Satyajit Biswas for the seat, while the CPI(M) has nominated physician Apurba Biswas.

Besides, the BJP has fielded professor Manabendra Roy and Congress has fielded a local party activist Nityagopal Mondal for the seat.


Please Wait while comments are loading...